academy of american

poets

FOUNDER Marie Bullock

DIRECTORS Michael Jacobs, Chairman Ian Kennedy, Vice Chairman & Treasurer Jennifer Benka, President Helen Houghton, Secretary Liza Bennett Larry Berger John Blondel Jr. Margaret H. Douglas-Hamilton Patricia Grodd Alexandra Jackson James Johnson Hon, Thomas H. Kean Camille Lannan Daniel Nadler Bruno Navasky Tess O'Dwyer Eric Rayman Gerald Richards Elda Rotor Andrew Schiff Elizabeth Sobol Rose Styron Maurice Tempelsman William D. Zabel

CHANCELLORS Elizabeth Alexander Ellen Bass Marilyn Chin Kwame Dawes Forrest Gander Linda Gregerson Joy Harjo Terrance Haves Brenda Hillman Marie Howe Dorianne Laux Alicia Ostriker David St. John Natasha Trethewey Kevin Young

EDUCATION AMBASSADOR Richard Blanco

EDUCATOR IN RESIDENCE Madeleine Fuchs Holzer

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Jennifer Benka

Academy of American Poets 75 Maiden Lane, Suite 901 New York, NY 10038 academy@poets.org +1 212 274 0343 +1 212 274 9427 fax

poets.org

September 30, 2020

Dear Alice,

Congratulations on receiving an honorable mention for the 2020 Fred and Edith Herman Memorial Prize sponsored by the Academy of American Poets.

Many of America's most esteemed poets won their first recognition through the University and College Poetry Prize program, established in 1955, including Toi Derricotte, Mark Doty, Louise Glück, Jorie Graham, Joy Harjo, Robert Hass, Li-Young Lee, Sylvia Plath, Mark Strand, and Ocean Vuong.

On behalf of the Board of Directors of the Academy, I extend our heartfelt congratulations and best wishes.

We wish you every success with your writing in the years to come.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Benka Executive Director

Academy of American Poets

Julan