The English department is governed by a chair and assisted by a number of standing committees and department officers. Each committee seats graduate student representatives, elected annually by the graduate student body.

The following represent the Standing Committees, Working Groups, Centers and Initiative Directors, and RAs for the academic year 2022-23.

Administrative Leadership

E. Heckendorn Cook

Vice Chair
Jim Kearney

Administrative Committee

  • Stephanie Batiste
  • Heather Blurton
  • Bishnu Ghosh
  • Melody Jue
  • ex officio: Rachael King, Andrew Griffin, Jim Kearney

DEI Faculty Diversity Officer
Sowon Park

Graduate Committee

Steering and Admissions

  • Andrew Griffin, Chair & DEI Graduate Diversity Officer
  • Maurizia Boscagli
  • Jeannine DeLombard
  • Mark Maslan
  • Amrah Salomón Johnson
  • Russell Samolsky
  • Daniel Reeve
  • Tess Shewry

CoGS Representatives: Lexxus Coffey Edison and Maria-Carolina Sintura.

Jobs Placement
Heidi Amin-Hong and Bernadette Andrea

Grad Admissions field readers and Field Examiners for the Qualifying Exam are named in Fall quarter by the Grad Chair.


Undergraduate Committee

  • Rachael King, Chair & DEI Undergraduate Diversity Officer
  • Enda Duffy
  • Ken Hiltner
  • Rita Raley
  • Swati Rana
  • Cathy Thomas

CoGS Representatives: Olivia Henderson and Shaun Nowicki.


Additional Departmental Leadership

Teaching Assistantship Support

  • Felice Blake, Faculty Lead TA Advisor
  • Heather Blurton, TA Advisor
  • Julie Carlson, TA Advisor
  • Ken Hiltner, TA Advisor
  • Erick Rodriguez and Maria Job, Co-Lead TAs

Data Management / Information / Library Liaison
Patricia Fumerton

EAP Representative
Maurizia Boscagli

Faculty Legislature Representatives

  • Felice Blake
  • Enda Duffy
  • Cathy Thomas
  • Mark Maslan, Alternative

Technology, Social Media, Remote Instruction

  • Alan Liu
  • Rita Raley
  • Jeremy Douglass

Council of Graduate Students (CoGS) Co-Chairs

Parra and Saide Singh. (CoGS representatives to Undergrad and Grad Committees listed above.)


Working Groups, 2022-2023

Center Cooperation

  • Maurizia Boscagli
  • Melody Jue
  • Alan Liu
  • Ben Olguín

Creative/Critical Writing

  • Cherríe Moraga, Chair
  • Stephanie Batiste
  • Felice Blake
  • Julie Carlson
  • Swati Rana

Curriculum Committee

  • Jim Kearney, Chair
  • Swati Rana
  • Daniel Reeve
  • Tess Shewry

Assessment (for Cycle 3 WASC Certification)

  • E. Cook
  • Ken Hiltner
  • Yunte Huang

Website Initiative

  • Jeremy Douglass
  • Daniel Reeve
  • Amrah Salomón
  • Cathy Thomas

Center, Initiative, and Project Leadership

2022-23 Directors and RAs

American Cultures and Global Contexts Center
Director: Swati Rana
RA: Maile Young

Center on Modern Culture, Materialism, and Aesthetics
Director: Maurizia Boscagli
RA: Nirvana Shariar

Early Modern Center
Director: Patricia Fumerton
RA: Olivia Henderson

Global Latinidades Project
Director: Ben Olguín
RA: Kaaronica Evans-Ware

Hemispheric South/s
Director: Stephanie Batiste
RA: Taylor Holmes

Literature & Environment
Director: Melody Jue
RAs: Maria Job and Nadia Ahmed

Literature & Mind
Director: Julie Carlson

Las Maestras Center
Co-Directors: Cherríe Moraga and Celia Herrera Rodríguez
RA: Maria-Carolina Sintura

Medieval Literature
Director: Heather Blurton
RA: Alice Fulmer

Director: Alan Liu
RA: Leila Stegemoeller

Director: Brian Donnelly
RA: Henry Coburn